Author Topic: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast  (Read 1258 times)

Lorenzo

  • Guest
Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« on: October 21, 2019, 09:14:45 pm »
Hello,
I dont find how to configure Magic RDS for Dynamic RT with my BW Broadcast Sender.

My BW Broadcast is on TCP IP  in my network and i can communique standalone with him without any problems.
If i take my ip on the Magic RDS Configuration > ok and ready but if i click read or send "communication error".

My BW Broadcast TX100 have an API in his software.
The normal way is loggin before send information with this kind of URL : http://192.168.1.100/api/auth?password=password
I can log in Firefox or Chrome without any problem and send http requests.

How to communicate with Magic RDS ?
I put my ip in TCP IP + port > Connected but not communicate.
Thanks.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2019, 09:23:05 pm »
Your device is currently not supported by this freeware tool. The support is however planned in upcoming version 4.

Lorenzo

  • Guest
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2019, 11:26:18 am »
Your device is currently not supported by this freeware tool. The support is however planned in upcoming version 4.

Ok ! Thank you for your reply :)
I think is supported by orlder versions in 3.5 - 3.7.

Version 4.0 is coming soon ?

Thanks

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2019, 06:55:08 pm »
It is not only an update, the application is being completely rewritten. This project is delayed by about 2 years so we now focused on that all our efforts. We want to release a beta by end of this year.

Lorenzo

  • Guest
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2019, 01:47:37 pm »
It is not only an update, the application is being completely rewritten. This project is delayed by about 2 years so we now focused on that all our efforts. We want to release a beta by end of this year.

Ok cool !  I'm in contact with BW Broadcast and maybe he have a solution.
I post solution if i have :)
Manually, i can send command via http like this "http://mylocalip/api/SetParameter?id=idrds.dsn[1].psn[0].rt&value=Test RT Rds

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2019, 02:15:45 pm »
We will definitely use direct TCP connection rather than HTTP protocol.

Lorenzo

  • Guest
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2019, 05:33:48 pm »
We will definitely use direct TCP connection rather than HTTP protocol.

For you information it working now ! BW Broadcast support help me.

Configuration working is with 3.6 Version or earlier (not with 3.7 or 3.8):
- Tcp/ip > direct ip of fm sender
- Uncheck bidirectionnal + Autodetect port speed

With this config, i can send all rds information but not receive.

Thank you

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2019, 05:46:21 pm »
It works partially, especially for the 'Now playing' text output, the version 4 will bring full support as it will implement more communication protocols, incl. UECP and MicroRDS. For some encoders (not for BW) the UECP implementation will be paid only.

w0kie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2020, 12:01:49 am »
Setup is SPL Pro on a WIN XP PC to Magic RDS to Trendnet TU-59 USB to Serial adapter to a serial cable to BWBroadcast TX300 V3 (latest update).  MagicRDS reads the playing now file perfectly and updates with song changes on the MagicRDS screen but MagicRDS can't do bi-directional pairing to the TW300v3 with the transmitter serial port enabled by using either the Magic wizard as a first step or by doing various other MagicRDS connection tests. 

Now that I think about it I suspect that the problem is that the Trendnet adapter doesn't have the FTDI chipset.

What do you think?

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 588
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2020, 08:21:30 am »
Magic RDS 3 is not fully compatible with new BW product line. See my reply #7 above.

w0kie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Magic Rds + BW Broadcast
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2020, 11:35:12 pm »
Epic Success today.  XP PC with Station Playlist (SPL) feeding a Tera Grand Premium USB 2.0 to RS232 Serial DB9 6' Adapter, with the FTDI chipset, connected to a StarTech straight through serial cable feeding the RS232 TX300V3 input.  Fresh install of MagicRDS V3.8e on PC.  Pointed MagicRDS to the playing now file in SPL  Tested with the MagicRDS help wizard with bidirectional data flow.  Radiotext song and artist began appearing and changing on listeners car radio displays.  Do NOT use a null modem cable with the TX300V3.