Author Topic: Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset  (Read 4738 times)

zvykov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset
« on: February 16, 2022, 12:31:46 pm »
Hello, I'm trying MagicRDS with MicroRDS encoder. I noticed strangeness with time, if you turn on the transmission of time, then the time zone itself is set to -3UTC from somewhere, and I never found any offset setting anywhere. I looked at this option in TinyRDS, it is configured there and works correctly. Please point me in the right direction to resolve the issue.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1069
Re: Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2022, 12:59:11 pm »
In current implementation, the time offset is given by the Windows operating system.

This applies to the software CT encoder only. RDS encoders with hardware support of CT function have independent time offset setting.

zvykov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2022, 02:23:04 pm »
Yes, I checked that the data is taken from the system time, but it seems that the offset works the other way around. I tried to change it in the system to UTC + 2, it also changed on the encoder, but to UTC-2.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1069
Re: Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2022, 03:09:13 pm »
Maybe you're right, the offset sign in the Magic RDS 4 seems to be incorrect. If so, we will fix that. It has no significant effect on how the time is showed to the listener.

zvykov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2022, 03:20:52 pm »
Thanks for supporting the product. It would be great to see this fix in the next version of the program.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1069
Re: Magic RDS v4.0.36 time offset
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2023, 09:27:32 pm »
Hi, this has been already fixed some months ago.