Author Topic: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output  (Read 201 times)

asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« on: January 21, 2021, 03:58:39 pm »
a greeting to everyone
I bought a p232 rds module we programmed it and the rds section works fine, but as regards the audio output you can hear a rustle and the audio comes out distorted, I tried to adjust the rds audio output through software but the audio remains distorted, moreover in the instructions it is written that the switch J1 must be on "side" if I leave it on the "side" position the audio does not come out, I have to position switch J1 in the "Loop" position to exit the audio . Kindly can someone help me to solve the problem?

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2021, 04:28:30 pm »
Does the distortion disappear if you disconnect power supply from the encoder?

asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2021, 04:40:11 pm »
Jan thanks for replying, I've always tried with the power on.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2021, 04:47:02 pm »
It would be nice if you can try that because it may rule out some possible causes.

Anyway, try typing this in the Terminal:

Quote
RDSGEN=0

and then

Quote
RDSGEN=1

Also, if possible, take a photo of the BNC cables connection so we can see the panel and connectors the encoder is connected to. There's something strange if corresponding connection diagram requires the switch to be in the SIDE position but you cannot hear the audio when doing so.

asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2021, 05:17:04 pm »
i did the test, with rds fed audio distorted, if i turn off rds audio good.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2021, 05:19:38 pm »
This was the power off or RDSGEN=0?

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2021, 05:49:25 pm »
OK, so the connection seems to be correct. Thus the reason for the distorted audio is the RDS level which is set to much higher value.

The module comes out from the factory with RDS level set to 2000 mVpp (LEVEL=128) which is ok for some equipment but it may be too strong for another. Unfortunately, the RDS level is not standardized and many broadcast equipment manufacturers do not specify the RDS level required for their transmitter. It is always necessary to adjust the RDS level after installation.

If the RDS is audible, it indicates that the level is maybe 10 times higher than required. So adjust the RDS level to considerably lower value. (Correct method is to use an FM broadcast analyzer.)

The RDS level can be adjusted either in the Terminal or in the Device Setup / Analog Control, as showed below.

Once the result is ok, confirm by *LEVEL in the Terminal or pressing the Apply button in the Analog Control.


asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2021, 06:10:10 pm »
rdsgen=0   AUDIO OK NO PROBLEM  :D

rdsgen=1   AUDIO PROBLEM  :(

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2021, 06:13:31 pm »
So it's only the RDS level issue, adjust it according to the description in my previous post.

asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2021, 07:01:38 pm »
thanks a lot friend now the audio quality is fine.

asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2021, 11:41:44 am »
Good day everyone, the encoder is working perfectly, without audio distortion, but switch J1 is positioned on "" LOOP "if I put it in the" "SIDE" position "the audio does not come out. I can leave it in position" "SIDE" "?

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 696
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2021, 12:08:16 pm »
This is exactly the function of this switch - to select whether to pass the audio/MPX to the output or not (positions LOOP and SIDE).

In many FM transmitter configurations, the audio/MPX is connected by a separate cable so the switch will stay in the SIDE position.

If such separate way does not exist for the audio, the LOOP position is correct.

See our pdf manual, Installation section, for all possible configurations and appropriate setup.

asterix2344

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: P232 RDS Encoder Module distorted audio output
« Reply #12 on: February 04, 2021, 12:53:04 pm »
ok thanks for the reply.