Author Topic: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data  (Read 5276 times)

radiocampustours

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« on: March 10, 2015, 05:34:20 pm »
Hi,

I am testing the magic rds. I set the parameters to get informations from an external source. The source is read correctly.

I don't understand how does it up to date automatically once I set the parameters ?

As I am testing the software in demo mode, RT & DSP infos are not regularly updated on the dashboard of magic rds. I mean that the title and the singer does not change even if I set up "go to next after" to 20 seconds in external text / text source, that period does not seem to work too.

Is it specific to the demo setup or do I miss a step to automate the updating of my data ?

Cheers

Stéphane
http://www.radiocampustours.com

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 781
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 06:32:33 pm »
Even you don't have the RDS encoder connected, you may get this working in the demo mode.

Corresponding service (Dynamic PS 1 or Radiotext 1) must be enabled. You'll find this option in Text setup dialogue.

You'll find more step-by-step instructions at http://pira.cz/rds/show.asp?art=magic_rds_how_to

stéphane

  • Guest
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 07:02:54 pm »
Hi,

Thanks for your prompt answer. The meaning of my question is I do not determine how the automated updating of data is working. I guess to sum up I need to setup the url of an external text source in magic rds, set the delay the data must be actualized, enable RT1 & DSP1, PC connected through TCP and that's it ? How many times in a minute my RT and my DSP will be updated ?

Sincerely Yours

Stéphane

stéphane

  • Guest
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 07:22:53 pm »
Hi,

Thanks for your prompt answer. The meaning of my question is I do not determine how the automated updating of data is working. I guess to sum up I need to setup the url of an external text source in magic rds, set the delay the data must be actualized, enable RT1 & DSP1, PC connected through TCP and that's it ? How many times in a minute my RT and my DSP will be updated ?

Sincerely Yours

Stéphane

How does Magic RDS determine that a change happened into the external text source and automaticaly store and send datas to the encoder ? How to set it up ?

Cheers

Stéphane

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 781
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2015, 07:34:53 pm »
You did not previously mention that you want to read a http source.

The Magic RDS checks for change every 3 seconds. However for http source it also contains a simple cache mechanism to reduce total download. The item "keep in cache for" is what you're looking for. It is 600 seconds by default. Reduce it to 20 for getting song info. Confirm by Add button.

stéphane

  • Guest
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2015, 09:10:04 pm »
Hi,

It ought to be that ! What should I find it please ?

Cheers



You did not previously mention that you want to read a http source.

The Magic RDS checks for change every 3 seconds. However for http source it also contains a simple cache mechanism to reduce total download. The item "keep in cache for" is what you're looking for. It is 600 seconds by default. Reduce it to 20 for getting song info. Confirm by Add button.

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 781
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2015, 09:19:37 pm »
In External Text / Text sources scroll down at the bottom.

stéphane

  • Guest
Re: Magic RDS Software - Automate the updating of the data
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2015, 09:46:53 pm »
I have written too fast and I have found the clue a minute after.


Stéphane

Hi,

It ought to be that ! What should I find it please ?

Cheers



You did not previously mention that you want to read a http source.

The Magic RDS checks for change every 3 seconds. However for http source it also contains a simple cache mechanism to reduce total download. The item "keep in cache for" is what you're looking for. It is 600 seconds by default. Reduce it to 20 for getting song info. Confirm by Add button.