Author Topic: MicroRDS Commands?  (Read 3623 times)

maxhd64

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
MicroRDS Commands?
« on: February 08, 2013, 12:36:07 am »
Hello,
Is there a set of commands that I can use for MicroRDS? Basically I wanted to use DPS1= command and it doesnt work. It does work for the Pira 32..I want to use the Tre software which does work fine for pira 32..Just need a command for MicroRDS

Thanks

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 560
Re: MicroRDS Commands?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 08:57:07 am »
You cannot use PIRA32 software for the MicroRDS control as the purpose, hardware requirements and communication protocol is different (ASCII vs. binary). All information is available online. Using the PIRA32 software with another hardware also violates license terms.

The PIRA32 hardware is necessary in order to exploit the PIRA32 capabilities. (I believe it is not a surprise.) However you can still do Dynamic PS with MicroRDS hw and Tiny RDS control software. Moreover the system is open for 3rd party applications.

Complete list of differences is here

PIRA32 communication protocol: manual.pdf, section 12.
MicroRDS communication protocol: mrds1322.pdf, section 6.

maxhd64

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: MicroRDS Commands?
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2013, 10:26:14 pm »
Micro RDS software outputting Binary codes to the micrords?

Pira32 software outputting ASCII to Pira32 hardware?

Thats what I need to know

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 560
Re: MicroRDS Commands?
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2013, 08:29:26 am »
Yes, exactly.

The communication is fully transparent, i.e. the software strictly uses the communication protocol as it is described in the documents mentioned above.

radiowavesokc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: MicroRDS Commands?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2013, 09:25:11 pm »
So to be clear, the MicroRDS can do title-artist but requires binary coding opposed to ASCI?   

If I had a lesser station that was also using Nexgen automation software, is there a fairly simple path to get title-artist on it's RDBS apposed to just the generic stuff we are currently running?   I have one advantage with this particular station in that the audio processor (with the 19khz output) is co-located with the automation system.   We also have a separate computer just for streaming for this station that could host additional software like TinyRDS if that would make it work...

On the primary station, we were able to get it to work with the Pira32 at the transmitter tower site via TCP (encoded within the Nexgen computer) through your computer-based TCP to serial converter program.  It would just be icing on the cake to have title-artist on the smaller station too :)!

I've read through the directions and have some understanding of this, but not being nearly the expert on it that you guys are I'd love to have some step by step info for how to configure things, etc. for getting this feature on the MicroRDS unit.

Thanks again for the advice.

PR