Author Topic: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso  (Read 383 times)

Flimtx

  • Guest
Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« on: March 05, 2021, 01:14:45 pm »
Hello,

I'm looking for the best settings to send metadata to an Ecreso (Audemat) RDS encoder.

Thanks in advance,
JL

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2021, 04:32:09 pm »
Audemat decided to implement a special ASCII protocol for that RDS encoder which is incompatible with rest of the world. Unfortunately there's no explicit mention about UECP support but somebody told it should support basic UECP command set.

Flimt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2021, 07:37:09 am »
Thanks, I've tried with e few UECP command sets, but the issue remains.
An Audemat engineer has taken control of the RDS device during one hour, he said there's no problem. That drives me nuts.
Any idea ?

nealuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2021, 11:46:04 am »
The Ecreso manual seems to suggest that you need the RDS Licence.

If logged in to the Ecreso web interface, the tool bar on top of the page enables access to all pages of the site: the user can view the status, access receiverconfiguration, RDSdata (if the Basic RDS license is present), system configuration and chat.

There are three regular commands to set RadioTEXT:

RDS.MAINDSN.RT=Now playing: Artist - Title.
RDS.RT1.TEXT=Now playing: Artist - Title.

To  ensure  compatibility  with  legacy  systems,  the  command RT_TEXT has  been  created. It  is  identical  to  the command RDS.RT1.TEXT


I have recently tried the older Audemet Aztec FMB80 RDS Encoder with MagicRDS4 using UECP - I couldn't get it to work - but since I'm new to UECP I couldn't trouble-shoot to work out where the issue is/was.

The Ecreso manual mentions UECP, and the command 'RDS.MAINDSN.ID' which 'Indicates which DSN sent by UECP is copied to the MAIN memory' - so you may need to check this is set, e.g. RDS.MAINDSN.ID=1 assuming you are using DSN1 as the live RDS system.

I can't find any other refernces to UECP in the manual.

Flimt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2021, 02:28:47 pm »
Thanks.

Dynamic RDS is already activated, and the DSN1 is the one used... Help !

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2021, 11:44:33 am »
Could you confirm that following command is working for your encoder?

RDS.RT1.TEXT=Now playing: Artist - Title<Enter>

If so, we can simply add it to the Magic RDS 4.

For testing the above, you may probably use any freeware terminal application.

pedrocol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2021, 04:45:48 pm »
We're having troubles making to work the same way RT and Dynamic PS, we are using Magic RDS4, RT is wotking properly but Dynamic PS remains static and we can not make it to work as RT, connecting by Ehternet UDP using UECP protocol

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2021, 05:08:58 pm »
In Overview - Extentions, enable the software encoder for Dynamic PS.

Flimt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2021, 12:51:25 pm »
Ecreso confirms they use UECP protocol for their all in one transmitters.

We’ve tried the serial RS232, TCP and UDP ports, directly on the transmitter, via an ethernet hub, via internet, using different navigators, telnet connectors like PuTTY, Ecreso connection software called Engi :  nothing works. I do insist : we have paid for the dynamic RDS option, and it’s activated on the transmitter.

The Ecreso answer is to try selling us a « RDS server solution » : it could consist in sending them our metadata, and they could send it, via a cloud server, to our transmitter  ???. Pricing 1700 € per year  >:(

Any alternative welcome !

Jan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
Re: Magic RDS 4 + Audemat/Ecreso
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2021, 01:16:38 pm »
That corresponds to experience of other people with the Audemat products...  :(

Anyway, there should be an ASCII command for the PS. We will add a user-configurable RDS encoder model option to the Magic RDS 4. There will be nothing but dynamic PS and RT output from the External text tool, with user configurable fields for PS and RT command prefix. This would cover devices like this.