Pira.cz Technical Forum

Radio Data System (RDS) => P132, P164, P232(U) and P332 RDS Encoders => Topic started by: murrycamper on November 17, 2018, 03:28:19 am

Title: Radiotext Default
Post by: murrycamper on November 17, 2018, 03:28:19 am
Where do I enter the default message for Radiotext if the RDS does not receive an update? I see the timeout setting but do not know where to enter the default message?
Title: Re: Radiotext Default
Post by: Jan on November 17, 2018, 12:09:19 pm
Default Radiotext is the Radiotext stored in the non-volatile memory.

You may enter it in the GUI, section Text setup, or via console:

Code: [Select]
RT1=Default RT typed here
*RT1

The timeout can be specified in minutes:

Code: [Select]
DTTMOUT=10
*DTTMOUT



In latest firmware version the default text features are considerably extended as you may use X-Command for the default text. This for example brings a possibility to include RT+ in the default Radiotext.

The default text in X-Command format is stored in Message 91 for Program set 1 or Message 92 for Program set 2:

Code: [Select]
*MSG91=<rds><item><dest>3</dest><text>Visit us at <url>http://radio.com</url></text></item></rds>

You may also initiate a timed loop of fixed RT+ messages on the default timeout event:

Code: [Select]
*MSG01=<rds><item><dest>3</dest><text>Visit our website at <url>http://radio.com</url></text></item></rds>
*MSG01D=4

*MSG02=<rds><item><dest>3</dest><text>Call us: <phone>609123456</phone></text></item></rds>
*MSG02D=4

*MSG03=<rds><item><dest>3</dest><text>Mail us: <email>studio@radio.com</email></text></item></rds>
*MSG03D=4

*MSG91=<rds><tmr>5:00</tmr></rds>

See the X-Command specification for details. See also the SETFEAT command description in the Technical manual.
Title: Re: Radiotext Default
Post by: murrycamper on November 17, 2018, 10:52:30 pm
What is the latest firmware version? I will check to see if I need to upgrade.
Title: Re: Radiotext Default
Post by: Jan on November 17, 2018, 11:07:23 pm
Current firmware can be downloaded directly from the product page where the latest version is indicated as well (2.1e to this date). You do not need to rush with it if the unit works well for you.