Author Topic: 1.3a Multiple Instances  (Read 3209 times)

kam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
1.3a Multiple Instances
« on: January 04, 2014, 12:45:24 am »
Hello!

In previous versions I have run multiple instances with different configurations by copying the program folders and renaming them for each instance.  This has worked well for monitoring our 4 stations with a Delta 1010 sound card on a single computer.

However, version 1.3a seems to pull the configuration from a common location, so it doesn't mater from what folder you launch from, it grabs the configuration of the last one edited.

Any way around this?

Jan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 01:44:57 pm »
The software keeps settings in different subfolders in Application data so the instances settings stay independent.

Each instance must be installed into different subfolder. For example:
C:\Program Files\Silence Detector 1\
C:\Program Files\Silence Detector 2\

Now an example of bad installation (the subfolder has the same name):
C:\Channel 1\Silence Detector\
C:\Channel 2\Silence Detector\

The user can show what folder the application uses for saving settings. Just go to Setup - About - Data folder.

Note: The reason why settings are no longer stored directly in the application folder is given by stupid Microsoft system called UAC which prohibits writes into the application folder, incl. ini file with the same name as the application has. As a result, to prevent problems with older applications, users usually turn off annoying UAC completely...

gastonet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 09:56:19 pm »
Hi all! Sorry if this was answered before but I didn't found any workaround.
I've followed Jan's instructions and installed 12 (twelve) SD instances. All is OK, except because I just can run only ten, when I try to run the 11th nothing happens.

I'll appreciate any answer that point me to a solution.

Many thanks in advance.

Jan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2015, 10:03:42 pm »
The 11th application creates a MUTEX which is equal to some of the previous instance. Rename the 11th subdirectory. Simply change or add a letter or something similar.

gastonet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2015, 12:58:20 am »
Thanks a lot for the answer Jan, I'll try and let you know.
Best regards.

gastonet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2015, 01:30:13 am »
It works perfect. Many thanks Jan!

Best.

sqgl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Ambient Radio
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2017, 09:21:40 am »
> Each instance must be installed into different subfolder.

I didn't need to install v1.4 a second time.
I just did a CTRL-C and CTRL-V of the C:\ProgramFiles folder and am able to run two copies OK.
Should I expect any problems with this method?

> The user can show what folder the application uses for saving settings. Just go to Setup - About - Data folder.

I can see a corresponding new Data folder is being used automatically.

Jan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
Re: 1.3a Multiple Instances
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2017, 12:05:09 pm »
You can do it this way, no problem. This method is not recommended just for the reason that you need administrator rights to modify the Program Files folder manually.